I’ve Left Facebook! *CUE GASP*

I have now left Facebook.

Okay, this sound really drastic, so I might as well admit I’m exaggerating: I haven’t left it per se, I’ve just frozen my account.

What does this mean? It basically means I’ve deactivated it for some time. If I change my mind, all of the things I posted and commented come back, and it’ll be like I never left.

Why did I leave you are asking? Maybe, you think, it’s because Facebook’s “trendiness” has started to diminish  and most users are gradually moving to tumbler and twitter. Of course, people still use Facebook, just not as much.

So then why? Why did I leave if I don’t care that it’s popularity has faded? Simply because I’m sick and tired of trends. I never really cared for Facebook; to me its always been about chatting to my friends. And if I never cared for Facebook, why should I give a damn about the other “Social Networks”?

The other day I posted something on FB about being super psyched about having 5 (5!!!!) followers on my blog. I mentioned that it was way harder to get followers on a blog than on Twitter, considering how what you post on a blog is lengthier and therefore you need to keep your audience’s attention for a longer period of time. As such, one needs to have at least an ounce of a flair for writing. Let’s face it, takes way more skill to write 3000 words on the Jonestown Massacre than “OMG!! I just bought the cutest sparky top!!!!” (imagine this sentence in Valley Girl).  Anyways, I got immediatly a bazillion comments asking why I hadn’t said I had a Twitter account and how exciting it is that I finally have one.

In case you’re wondering how I become so hypocritical as to criticise Social Networks, when I have all these accounts, I actually just started an account of Twitter just to see what the hype was about. After a couple of days, I haven’t figured it out.

Maybe I’m just old fashioned, or have an old soul for a 16 year old, or maybe in a previous life I was a bearded 90 year old man, I don’t know, but I just don’t get it.I suppose social networks are addictive, but so are drugs and need I post the old “This Is Your Brain On Drugs” adds?

I’m not going to “move” to twitter for a couple of years until the next SN takes over. Is anyone even on Myspace or HiFive anymore??

The point is, I find it redundant to move on indefenitly, a new Social Network every few years. God, I sound so old/un-native when I say social networks. I’m practically quoting my 9th grade/10th grade english teachers. The latter said, during class, believe it or not, that “Fingerprints are the points of your fingers”.

To conclude, I don’t think Social Networks are here to stay, at least, not for that long. Then again, weren’t the Lumier brothers quoted as saying that moving pictures were just a fad and had no future?  Maybe I’ll change my mind, I mean everyone has to be wrong at least once in their life, unless they are my friend Anna, who claims she is always right.